Why I won’t teach my Son about David vs. Goliath

Ryan Cagle

IMG_0701-1.JPG
David hoists the severed head of Goliath as illustrated by Gustave Doré (1866). [words are my own]

Just to start out I want to make it clear that I am not critiquing anyone else’s ability to parent their children Or the decisions they make in raising them. Nor am I speaking as a pro at parenting or theology.

I think most people are fairly familiar with the narrative of the battle between David of Israel and Goliath of Gath that is found in the Hebrew/Christian scriptures. The story of this battle is honestly one of the first things I learned in my sporadic visits to church as a child and as the years have gone by I can say for sure that it is a staple in most churches Sunday School curriculum. The fact that this story, one of a man killing another man, is taught to young children deeply…

View original post 390 more words

Leave a Reply

